Kettering Cycling Club

Upcoming Events

KCC Championship Drayton-Nevill Holt & Medbourne-Nevill Holt

Frank & Joy Sheppard Open 10 (Promoted by Gavin Hinxman, KCC)

KCC Evening TT - Old

The penultimate TT of the season and the last on the Old circuit saw Tony Brown take the win at the head of a large field and, in doing so, secure an unassailable lead in the points series. David Robinson, the only rider in with a chance of catching the recently crowned British Triathlon champion in the 55-59 age group, could only finish third behind second placed Mark Weathersby. Paul Ashdown continued his comeback with another solid performance to finish fourth, a second ahead of Eddy Clutton, who is seeing the benefits of some high mileage over recent months and a substantial investment in new kit. Mark Booth suffered a puncture on the way to the start but borrowed a wheel from the early starting David Robinson and recovered to finish sixth.

Gemma Royles slipped back to her usual time in the less favourable conditions but was still the fastest lady and was looking good for an overall win in the Tollers Solicitors League until Jen Moffat put in her customary late appearance. Her second place was enough to secure the overall win by 10 points having competed in 1 extra event.

Timekeepers: David Robinson, Christina Robinson, Jon Thorne
Assistant: Ken Vatcher
Marshals: Chris Duckworth, Andrew Jones

KCC Evening TT - Old

With the end of the season rapidly approaching, Mark Weathersby brought out his TT bike for its long awaited debut and recorded his first victory in an almost identical time to the week before. David Robinson took second place in his first event back after his charity ride through France, and Paul Ashdown dipped under 23 minutes to take third.

Timekeeper: Tony Brown
Assistants: Jamie Stockham, Ken Vatcher
Marshals: Gavin Wright, John Tilley

KCC Evening TT - Old

Favourable conditions resulted in a number of personal bests in the latest round of the TT series to be held on the Old circuit. Chris Duckworth, whose form is erratic to say the least, had a good day and dropped his PB by 18 seconds to take the win. Mark Weathersby produced his best time to finish second, and James Simons-Boswell took third with his fastest time on the course. Neill Hammond was the fourth rider to produce a PB in the top four but the run was spoiled by Tony Brown who came home fifth complaining bitterly about slow moving farm machinery! Gemma Royles climbed off the plateau she had been stuck on and dropped her PB by over half a minute. George Evans went faster by over a minute as he successfully kept his father and minute man behind him.

Timekeeper: David Robinson
Assistants: Ken Vatcher, Christina Robinson, Pete Dewsnap
Marshals: Darren Cope, David Bucknall

KCC TT - Broughton

Report to follow...

KCC Evening TT - Old

Report to follow...

KCC Evening TT - Old

Report to follow...

Toller Ladies League

Here are the current standings in the Toller Ladies League for 2014.

With 2 events to go, any one of three ladies could take the series win & the whole top 5 is far from fixed.

The next event is this Thursday, 24th July

Calais to Alpe d'huez

On the 27th July two club members, Eddy Clutton and David Robinson, along with two others, will start riding from Calais towards Alpe d'huez. The plan is to complete the 600 mile trip in six days, finishing on the summit of the iconic mountain on Friday 1st August. Those of you who know Eddy and David will also know that they need little excuse to ride their bikes but this time the trip has another objective, to raise awareness and hopefully some much needed funds for a cancer research charity based at Guy's hospital. A friend of Eddy's was diagnosed with lung cancer in 2011 and it is in no small part due to the work done by the team at Guy's that he still around today.

More details and a way to donate can be found on this JustGiving page.

KCC Evening TT - Old

Following two two lap events on the Old circuit, the evening series stays on the same course for the rest of the season but the remainder of the events are over a single lap. 34 riders turned up to enjoy the evening sunshine although it probably felt fairly cool to the eventual winner, Chris Duckworth, having recently returned from 2 months cycling from one side of America to the other. He successfully converted his endurance training into speed, powering round the 9.4 miles in 21:38 to win comfortably from Tony Brown and David Robinson, who came home second and third respectively. James Simons-Boswell retuned to racing after a chest infection to beat Neill Hammond to fourth. Jamie Stockham knocked over 2 minutes from his PB and Mick Prescott lowered his best for the course too.

The event was also one of the qualifying events for the Junior Series, sponsored by Kettering Motorist Centre. After three events the points are as follows:

Morgan Lewis 27 (3 events)
Jonah Shrive 26 (3 events)
Chris Tew 10 (1 event)
George Evans 9 (1 event)
Rachel White 8 (1 event)
Jake Gatehouse 7 (1 event)

Best four to count.

Timekeepers: Michael and Liz Church
Assistant: Ken Vatcher