Kettering Cycling Club

Latest News

Central Cyclocross League Round 3 - Prologis Park
25/09/2018

Cyclones Coaching Autumn 2018
18/09/2018

Cyclones Team Time Trial, Silverstone
16/06/2018

CYCLONES UPDATES MAY 2018
10/05/2018

CYCLONES UPDATES APRIL 2018
03/04/2018

Kettering CC - Weekley 10, 11th March 2018
11/03/2018

CYCLONES UPDATES - NOVEMBER 2017
20/11/2017

Central CX Update - Rounds 6,7 & 9
20/11/2017

VANELLI CLOTHING
30/10/2017

Central CX league Round 4&5
24/10/2017

Central CX league Round 3
10/10/2017

CLOTHING SALE AND NEW VANELLI RANGE
10/10/2017

CYCLONES UPDATES - SEPTEMBER 2017
30/09/2017

Cyclones Dates and Venues
24/09/2017

Central CX league Round 1
24/09/2017

Leicestershire Cyclo-Cross League Round 1
20/09/2017

CYCLONES UPDATES - AUGUST 2017
16/09/2017

CYCLONES UPDATES JULY 2017
06/07/2017

Andy Parker - One Day Ahead 2017 challenge
08/06/2017

Round three of the Youth races at Milton Keynes
27/03/2017

Cyclones Spring Dates 2017- (Updated 11/05/2017)
27/03/2017

CYCLONES UPDATES APRIL 2018

Coaching Sessions
Spring/Summer 2018
(Please note venues may be subject to change)

Date Location
(7pm unless specified)

Monday 2nd & 9th April No session EASTER HOLIDAYS
Monday 16th April OUP
Monday 23rd April OUP
Friday 27th April Leicester Cycle Circuit
Monday 30th April OUP
Monday 7th May No session- BANK HOLIDAY
Friday 11th May Leicester Cycle Circuit
Monday 14th May Prologis GO RIDE 1
Thursday 17th May Rockingham
Monday 21st May OUP
Monday 28th May No session HALF TERM
Monday 4th June OUP (9UP only)
Friday 8th June Leicester Cycle Circuit
Monday 11th June OUP
Friday 15th June Silverstone 9UP
Sunday 17th June KCC Sportive at Kettering Rugby Club GO RIDE 2
Monday 18th June No session
Thursday 21st June Rockingham
Monday 25th June Rothwell GO RIDE 3 (Hill Climb)
Monday 2nd July No session
Friday 6th July Leicester Cycle Circuit GO RIDE 4
Monday 9th July Desborough
Monday 16th July Prologis
Thursday 19th July Rockingham GO RIDE 5
Monday 23rd July No session HOLS
Monday 30th July No session HOLS
Monday 6th August No session HOLS
Monday 13th August No session HOLS
Thursday 16th August Rockingham GO RIDE 6
Monday 20th August No session HOLS
Monday 27th August BANK HOLIDAY

Desborough Leisure Centre, Ironwood Avenue, Desborough, NN14 2JJ
Kettering Buccleuch Academy, Weekly Glebe Rd, Kettering, NN16 9NS
Rothwell Community Centre, Well Lane, Rothwell NN14 6DQ
Prologis Park, Rushton Road, Glendon, Kettering NN14 1QF
Kettering Rugby Club, Waverley Rd, Kettering NN15 6NT
Rockingham Speedway, Mitchell Rd, Rockingham, Corby NN17 5AF
OUP - Oxford University Press, North Kettering Business Park, Hipwell Road, Kettering NN14 1UA
Leicester Cycle Circuit, New College Leicester, Learning and Sports Village, St Oswalds Road, Leicester LE3 6RJ


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Upcoming Events

Monday 7th May NORPIP Bike Ride & Family Fun Day Silverstone
Saturday 19th May Macmillan Harborough Sportive, Welland Valley 10km Family Ride, Start 10am-11am, ₤10 plus ₤50 sponsorship (max 5 in a group)
Saturday 2nd June The Queen Victoria Cyclocross 2018, Telford
https://www.britishcycling.org.uk/events/details/172588/The-Queen- Victoria-Cyclocross-2018
Saturday 9th June Leighton Bromswold Bike Fest, Bromswold Bike Fest is an amazing and unique cycling festival that allows cyclists of all ages and all abilities to enjoy the open countryside and gently rolling hills of west Cambridgeshire while raising money for two wonderful charities.
A route for everyone...2-6-14-26-35-55-70 miles!
https://www.bromswoldbikefest.org/
Thursday 14th June Women's Tour Rushden to Daventry
Friday 15th June - TBC Silverstone 9Up Time Trial
Sunday 17th June KCC Sportive & Go-Ride at Kettering Rugby Club
Mike Deely is organising a charity ride in aid of Cransley Hospice Kettering on Sunday 17th June. Routes to be announced nearer the time but details will be found here
https://www.cransleyhospice.org.uk/event/cycle-for-cransley/
Sunday 1st July Fete Du Velo, Redbourne - lots of different closed circuit races, it was a great family day out with lots of activities for all. Race your bike competitively or have a laugh racing a scooter or your Brompton!
Saturday 14th July Whizz Kids Inter-club Grass Track
Thursday 26th July KCC BBQ


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Milton Keynes Bowl Youth Midweek Development
Watling St, Milton Keynes MK5 8AA Every Wednesday from 18th April for approx. 10 weeks From 6.30pm

Mallory Park Road Race League
Tuesday 10th April until Tuesday 25th August Mallory Park Church Rd, Kirkby Mallory LE9 7QE From 6.45pm

1st May, 5th June & 14th August Leicester Cycle Circuit New College Leicester Learning and Sports Village, St Oswalds Road, Leicester LE3 6RJ From 6.45pm

17th, 24th & 31st July No racing


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NCRA Road Race
?
Saturday 21stApril - KCC are hosting a road race on Saturday 21st April near Old.

As Steve Whitby race organiser states:
?We need a driver who is happy to drive ahead of a race group with a commissaire on board. They must
own the car and be a BC member. BC will then fully insure them during the race. Other than that we
need a few volunteers to help with signing on and giving out numbers, making tea and cake to raise
funds for the club.

The race starts at 2pm on the 21st April so Id need people an hour or so before.
Contact Steve Whitby on bigstevew@aol.com

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mountain Biking
Friday Night Summer Series 2018 (for anyone over 12)
The 2018 calendar looks like this:
Round 1 May 18th CATS MBC @ Borough Hill, Daventry NN11 4NA
Round 2 May 25th Northants Outcast @ Delapry Abbey, Northampton NN4 8AW
Round 3 June 1st Velowheels @ Stibbington Quarry, Cambs PE8 6JX
Round 4 June 8th Numplumz.com @ Waddenhoe Church, Waddenhoe, PE8 5ST
Round 5 June 15th Welland Valley CC @ Kilworth Springs Golf Club LE17 6HJ
Round 6 June 22nd Renvale RT @ TBC
Round 7 June 29th Team Milton Keynes @ National Bowl, Milton Keynes MK5 8AA
Round 8 July 6th Dean Barnett & FNSS members @ Marston Lodge LE16 9TT
Round 9 July 13th Stag's Head @ Harrington Aerodrome, Draughton NN6 9JF
Round 10 August 3rd Team Jewson @ Adventure Sport, Wedgnock Lane, Warwick CV35 7PX
Round 11 August 10th CATS MBC @ Spanhoe Aerodrome, Bulwick NN17 5AF
Non Counting BBQ & Handicap August 18th CATS MBC @ KIlworth Spring Golf Club, LE17 6HJ



Central Mud Sweat & Gears
Mountain bike events for everyone across the Central region.
Sunday 3rd June Black Park
Saturday 4th August National Bowl, Milton Keynes
Sunday 2nd September Rushmere Country Park

https://www.britishcycling.org.uk/events?series_id=608 CATEGORY START TIME FINISH TIME ENTRY FEE
ONLINE/ON THE DAY
Under 9s Coached Session 10:00 / 10.00 12.30 / 12.30 ₤12 / ₤18
Under 12s Coached session including race at 12:10pm 10:00 / 10.00 11.30 / 11.30 ₤16 / ₤24
Under 12s race only 12:10 / 12.10 12.50 / 12.50 ₤10 / ₤15
CATEGORY START TIME ENTRY FEE ENTRY FEE APPROXIMATE RACE DURATION
Juvenile 13 to 14yrs** 10:00am/10:00am* ₤15/ ₤22 ₤12/ ₤18 45mins to 1hr
Youth 15 to 16yrs** 10:00am/10:00am* ₤15/ ₤22 ₤12/ ₤18 45mins to 1hr


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


KCCs Time Trials
15/4 and 30/8 are shorter time trial distance for those new to time trialling which includes kids over 12.
The club needs more volunteers to marshal, help with time keeping or similar for the TT races on their calendar. Contact: Jon Thorne on timetrial@uwclub.net (See below for 2018 schedule) Date Day Time Distance Event
05/04/2018 Thursday 6.30pm 13.2/11.7 KCC Evening TT - Grafton Underwood
12/04/2018 Thursday 6.30pm 13.2/11.7 KCC Evening TT - Grafton Underwood
15/04/2018 Sunday 10.00am 3.8 KCC Early Season Sprint - Flags to Old 3.8
19/04/2018 Thursday 6.30pm 13.2/11.7 KCC Evening TT - Grafton Underwood
26/04/2018 Thursday 6.30pm 13.2/11.7 KCC Evening TT - Grafton Underwood
03/05/2018 Thursday 7.00pm 10.0 KCC Evening TT - Lamport
10/05/2018 Thursday 7.00pm 10.0 KCC 10 Championship Evening TT - Lamport.
17/05/2018 Thursday 7.00pm 10.0 KCC Evening TT - Lamport
20/05/2018 Sunday 8.00am 10.0 KCC TT - Broughton
24/05/2018 Thursday 7.00pm 10.0 KCC Evening TT - Lamport
31/05/2018 Thursday 7.00pm 10.0 KCC Evening TT - Lamport
07/06/2018 Thursday 7.00pm 10.0 KCC Evening TT - Lamport
10/06/2018 Sunday 9.00am 25.0 KCC 25 Championship TT - Old circuit
14/06/2018 Thursday 7.00pm 10.0 KCC Evening TT - Lamport
21/06/2018 Thursday 7.00pm 10.0 KCC Evening TT - Lamport
23/06/2018 Saturday 2.00pm 20.8 N&DCA (Promoted by Simon Frost, KCC)
28/06/2018 Thursday 7.00pm 10.0 KCC Evening TT - Lamport
05/07/2018 Thursday 7.00pm 18.8 KCC Evening TT - Old 18.8
08/07/2018 Sunday 8.00am 10.0 KCC TT - Broughton
12/07/2018 Thursday 7.00pm 18.8 KCC Evening TT - Old 18.8
15/07/2018 Sunday 6.30am 25 / 50 KCC 50 Championship TT - Earls Barton.
19/07/2018 Thursday 7.00pm 9.4 KCC Evening TT - Old 9.4
26/07/2018 Thursday 7.00pm 9.4 KCC Evening TT - Old 9.4
02/08/2018 Thursday 7.00pm 9.4 KCC Evening TT - Old 9.4
09/08/2018 Thursday 6.45pm 9.4 KCC Evening TT - Old 9.4
12/08/2018 Sunday 8.00am 10.0 KCC TT - Broughton
16/08/2018 Thursday 6.45pm 9.4 KCC Evening TT - Old 9.4
23/08/2018 Thursday 6.45pm 9.4 KCC Evening TT - Old 9.4
30/08/2018 Thursday 6.30pm 3.8 KCC Evening TT Sprint - Flags to Old 3.8
09/09/2018 Sunday 10.00am HC KCC Championship Drayton-Nevill Holt & Medbourne-Nevill Holt
22/09/2018 Saturday 1.00pm 10.0 Frank & Joy Sheppard Open 10 (Promoted by Gavin Hinxman, KCC)

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

British Cycling Traffic Free Lets Ride Events 2018

British Cycling are closing the roads to traffic in 14 city centres throughout Britain this summer and
throwing street festivals for anyone on a bike. Music, food and drink, fun and games, demos, giveaways,
activities, challenges, face painting – its all happening.
Its totally free to take part, you get to see your city in a different way and its a fun, active familyfriendly
day out!
Cities and dates are as follows:
Cardiff Sunday 13th May
Birmingham Sunday 10th June
Southampton Sunday 17th June
Edinburgh Sunday 24th June
Manchester Sunday 1st July
Bristol Sunday 8th July
Sheffield Sunday 15th July
Newcastle Sunday 29th July
Coventry Sunday 5th August
Leicester Sunday 12th August
Glasgow Sunday 26th August
Leeds Sunday 2nd September
Nottingham Sunday 16th September
Liverpool Sunday 23rd September
https://www.letsride.co.uk/events?utm_source=LetsRide&utm_medium=Email&utm_campaign=LetsRideEvents&dm_i=480K,7AXU,VTTFE,SGFW,1

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Cyclones Clothing
A new supply of orange tops ,short and long sleeved are now in stock. Please let me know if you wish
to purchase one and I can bring along on a Monday night. Please email
cyclones@ketteringcyclingclub.co.uk

British Cycling Membership
The link for membership of British Cycling is as follows:
https://www.britishcycling.org.uk/clubs/membership
If you purchase a child’s silver race membership and select KetteringCC as your club you can use the
following code to get free membership for the first year - NEWCMRA.

KCC Club Membership
It would be appreciated if any cyclones that regularly attend coaching sessions, join the main Kettering
Cycling Club membership, this is only ₤6 for junior or ₤20 for family membership (payment can be made
in cash or online). Forms are available from Liz at Cyclones sessions. Completed form can either be sent
to marcus.buksh@hotmail.com.uk or can be given to Liz.
Thanks.

03/04/2018

Useful Links

British Cycling 

Cycling Time Trials 

Go-Ride

ClubMark